PyCon 2013

I attended PyCon this year with LadyCoders.  I had such a wonderful time!  Because I was at our booth during most of the talks, I sadly missed a lot that I wanted to go to.  They are available online, but going and sitting there in person is an experience that I’m sad I had to miss.

I did manage to make it to two talks, the closing ceremony, and some of the lightning talks that came after the closing ceremony.  One of the talks was on MongoDB.  I find myself more and more interested in this NoSQL database.  While I don’t think it will do a better job than a SQL database would at what SQL handles best, I’m excited to find places in which it can do a better job at things that are painful in SQL.

As always, I love lightning talks.  I saw Python 3 run on an Atari emulator, and then two lightning talks later I heard a shout when the base code of Python 3 was patched to fix a bug discovered in that presentation.  Oh, how I adore this community!

I heard a talk from a teacher working to get rid of grading in high school, and instead work with schools to make high school goal driven.  I think this is a great idea to work on as a possible way to improve the current state of schools.  Stop the mockery of being held back a grade, and just have everyone move forward as they’re able.

I also heard from what appeared to be the reincarnation of Billy Mays about Python Anywhere – a Python cli that you can run in your browser.  The joy and energy that went into this talk was absolutely amazing, I think the talk made every single person in the room happy.

So, there you have it.  I got to experience very few talks, but the ones I did were awesome.  I encourage everyone to try to attend next year, even if that means having to learn French 🙂

~ by Liz on March 22, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
