Plone Migrator is … Gone?

Update: I’ve submitted a tutorial for review in the Plone docs.

I’ve been going through the process of moving some local packages into the collective.  In the process of doing so, I’ve changed the names of the packages to make them more general-use friendly.  Now that I’m done with that, the plan was to write some migrations to move the existing objects over to the collective types.

I get working on my migration, using Martin’s helpful guide, and am faced with this:

ImportError: No module named migrator

Well, that’s weird, I must have a broken package.  I go look in the Products.ATContentTypes.migration package, and there is indeed no file called migrator.  Delete the package and run buildout again, still not there.

Googling around points me at the new transmogrifier package, which looks like it will fit my needs nicely.  After working with it a couple of weeks, I can say that I just don’t have the time to figure out how to make this work right now.  I can see that it’s going to be a great package, but I’m on a time crunch here.

More looking, and I happen upon a plone news update on the plone.de site that says, “Removed the migration tool. Upgrades are handled by GenericSetup alone.”  So far, I’ve come upon this slideshow from Six Feet Up explaining upgrades in GenericSetup.  Please, someone tell me if I’m on the wrong track or if you know of a step-by-step tutorial on upgrades.  I feel like I should be done with this by now, but I keep starting over.

~ by Liz on June 17, 2009.

11 Responses to “Plone Migrator is … Gone?”

  1. You want genericsetup:upgradeStep, see: http://theploneblog.org/blog/archive/2007/06/21/genericsetup-improvements for an example. Also check Poi, I think Maurits or somebody is using it in there. Good luck!

    • OOPS, sorry, I pointed you to the wrong thing. Though perhaps you could write genericsetup:upgradeSteps to kick off contentmigrations. I’m a little fuzzy on where/how contentmigrations are run, unless maybe from the “old style” Quick Installer… (?) yeah, this is a discussion much better suited for one of the mailing lists 😉

  2. You want to look at Products.contentmigration instead, which is essentially the code that was used in the Plone migrations in 2.1.

  3. I don’t know the answer personally, but I’d suggest that you ask in the support forums instead of on your blog? 🙂

    http://plone.org/support/forums/setup or
    http://plone.org/support/forums/addons are probably the most relevant ones.

    • Apologies for not using a forum. I was extremely frustrated when I wrote this, and it simply didn’t occur to me.

      • Yes, absolutely understandable. Good thing all the core people read RSS and monitor blogs for Plone. 😉

        Products.contentmigration is your uncle!

  4. The module is no longer in Products.ATContentTypes, but look at Products.contentmigration, which has the same thing.

  5. Oh, and could you either update the documentation to reflect this change — or file a ticket for the doc team to handle? Thanks! 😀

  6. I’m having exactly the same problem — got loads of Plone 2.5.3 content to migrate and then I find the migration tool has gone. I’ve installed contentmigration but I can’t get it working yet. Intensely frustrating — I’m up against a major deadline so this isn’t helpful. No idea why it’s changed. Some documentation would also be very helpful (and I don’t mean just wading through Python files). Phew, I needed to rant 🙂 Hope you got your problem sorted.

Leave a Reply

 
