Tango Magic

I attended Tango Magic this weekend, which is held every year in Seattle. Overall, I had a very nice time. Here’s a breakdown of the experience.

Location

Tango Magic was held at the HUB (Student Union) at the University of Washington. This is an ideal location for something like this. The building has two ballrooms, lots of smaller rooms, and at least one food vendor was open all weekend (the food court was only open on Friday). Visitors from out of town were able to stay in the school dorms, which was low-cost, and had everyone together. I was very impressed with how convenient this location was.

Unfortunately, the ballroom that the intermediate classes were held in had a floor that had recently been waxed with something sticky. By the end of my first class in that room, my knees hurt. By the end of my third class in that room, my feet, ankles, and knees hurt quite a bit. I have suede bottom shoes, and have never run into this problem before. They put down some kind of powder on the floor to try to make it slicker, but it only worked in the area where it had been dumped. I don’t know what the solution to this problem is, perhaps a portable floor? The waxing had clearly been recent, so it was probably fine when they initially chose that venue. I wish they had switched the beginner’s and intermediate’s class locations, a lot of the beginners were in socks and would have been fine on the sticky floor.

Vendors

As a woman that is just under 6 feet tall, I really don’t have a lot to say about the vendors. There were some nice Nuevo Tango shoes, and some pretty dresses, but nothing that would have fit me. I thought I might be able to get some men’s practice shoes, but they were gone by the time I got to checking. There was a big table of cd’s with tango music. It looked like a nice variety. I think the vendors would meet most people’s tango needs.

Classes

The classes were absolutely wonderful. They brought in top-notch teachers from around the world. These teachers had the ability to break down complex moves into a relatively simple series of steps – most of the leads I danced with were able to follow along.

My favorite class was on planeos and enrosques by Patricia and Mateo. It was just amazing how they were able to break everything down for us, then put it together into a complex move.

The only complaint I have about classes is that the Sunday advanced classes were all couples only. Since there seemed to be more follows than leads, this means that not everyone was able to take all the classes they wanted

Overall, this was a great festival.  I will definitely be returning next year.

~ by Liz on July 28, 2008.

One Response to “Tango Magic”

  1. That sounds like a lot of fun! I’ll have to check out Tango Magic when we move to Seattle.

Leave a Reply

 
