A New Challenge

One of the things I really value about tango is that it is hard. Really, really hard. This means that if I ever get good at dancing tango, it will be a true accomplishment.

Every once in a while, I will have a breakthrough moment, and an improvement that sticks. This happened to me last week with a bit of additional advice about ochos. I had never previously been able to do standing ochos by myself without extreme instability and floundering. I can now do them with a bit of stability, although I need to work on making this consistent.

My technique class tonight brought on a new challenge: standing boleos. I’ve never really done boleos, short of a quick class that I barely remember from when I was still a very new beginner. So now, I have something new to practice that has me floundering with extreme unstability. The idea is to go back and forth between a front and back boleo. I know that I’m not supposed to kick up my free foot, so I’m doing my best to just let it do as it will, which isn’t much at this point.

I actually had no idea that boleos were difficult. I thought that you somehow knew from the lead that it was time to kick up that foot, and just did it. This is probably the result of a workshop I took that taught a kick as embellishment. In fact, I think I may have been led into them before – an odd pause between ochos where I was turned back and forth. Tangogod has told me that boleos are supposed to be led so that I don’t have to figure it out, and now I see what he means. I can see it being possible to be led into a boleo and doing it without even realizing it. I guess when I’m ready, it will just happen. In the meantime, I need to get them working properly.

~ by Liz on July 9, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
