Ochos

I love my technique class.  I went in last night feeling exhausted, and with stuffy ears that were effecting my balance.

Near the end of the class, the instructor had us doing ochos on our own.  Back and forth, on the 1 beat.  He explained a bit of technique first: Wind up while stepping, and then let yourself unwind into the turn.  After a couple of tries, I found that this worked wonderfully for me!  What had been a very shaky and unstable step was now a whole lot more stable.  This works for back ochos too, though I’m not quite as stable in those yet.

I wouldn’t say my ochos are good yet, especially the back ones.  However, I now feel much more stable.  I would say that if I keep practicing this way, I think I will be able to do them with consistent stability before too much longer.  I’m so happy about this, I always dread the moment I get put into back ochos, because I know it’s my worst step.  Most of the leads I dance with don’t support me very much when they put me into back ochos, so I end up just crossing instead of twisting.  When I get support, I’m usually fine, but that probably means I’m not doing them right.

By the end of class, I felt much more comfortable with both forward and back ochos, and a lot more stable in general.

Here’s hoping that the steps I dread will soon become fun.  🙂

~ by Liz on July 3, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
