How Much Practice is Enough?

I was feeling very confident in my dancing after Valentango, and suddenly things that had been very difficult became easier. It was strange, as though I had walked up a slope and was suddenly on level ground.

About a month ago, I had to stop dancing for 2-3 weeks. When I started again, it felt like I was a brand new beginner. My balance was gone, and I had a lot of trouble telling what the lead wanted to do. This was even worse in close embrace, I couldn’t follow backward ochos at all. In the following weeks, things seemed to get worse rather than better.

I’m not sure what the problem is, but I do know what gave me that feeling of confidence before: tons of practice. I have been going to practices twice a week, and a milonga every two weeks or so. I’m going to bite the bullet here and spend the money, I’m going to take 2 regular classes and a technique class every week, and try to make at least one practica or milonga a week, hopefully more.

I was enjoying myself immensely when I felt that improvement, and I want that feeling again. I’m not sure what I will do if this doesn’t help, but I expect it to help quite a bit. I think that at least part of the problem is that I feel out of practice at the beginning of each class or dance. Also, these three classes will be in two different studios with 3 different sets of teachers, so I will probably meet more people and be able to recognize them at the milongas. I’m not as comfortable dancing as I was this time last month, and I am going to do my best to regain that comfort level and confidence.

~ by Liz on April 29, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
