Floyd’s Place

They told me there was no good BBQ north of the Mason Dixon line.

Wandering around lower Queen Anne in Seattle, we noticed a place with an odd sign out front. A pig dancing with a cow. Curious, we walked over to see what sort of place this was. It was a restaurant that served BBQ.

I lived in Louisiana for 10 years, and have eaten fabulous BBQ in Chapel Hill, NC. As a result, I am a bit picky. Floyd’s was good. It’s not the best I’ve ever had, (BBQ Joint in Chapel Hill, mmmmmmm) but it was on par with Bodacious BBQ in Shreveport, LA, which was one of my favorite places to eat there.

The restaurant itself is small, there were about a dozen tables plus the bar. There was no local game on the multiple televisions, so it was fairly quiet. This is the kind of place that has a roll of paper towels on each table, which is always a good sign in a BBQ place.

Floyd’s smokes their own meat. It is tender and juicy, as you would expect a good smoked meat to be. The sauce isn’t too sweet, and is what I consider to be slightly spicy (I like spicy food). I had a pork loin sandwich, which consisted of pulled pork with sauce on a bun that had been lightly toasted.

Rather than offering a variety of greens, Floyd’s has fries and salads. I didn’t have a salad, but someone at the next table did, and it looked large with good lettuce. The fries were the very skinny kind, and I wouldn’t be surprised to hear that they were cut in-house. They were the best fries I’ve had so far in Seattle.

All in all, this was a very good meal for a decent price.

~ by Liz on November 21, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
